top of page

Day 4: Cry it out.

The day after we were released from the hospital, I called my pediatrician to make an appointment for the day after visit. I reached a kind woman who told me I was not in their system yet, and I would receive a call back to get everything set up.

The day after we were released from the hospital, I called my pediatrician to make an appointment for the day-after visit. I reached a kind woman who told me I was not in their system yet, and I would receive a call back to get everything set up. I hung up the phone and sobbed. Out gushed the hormone-laden, sleep-deprived tears. For twenty full minutes. I was certain I had made a HUGE mistake, that my baby was now without a doctor, that I was a terrible mom already. That thinking led to bigger tears. Rational me could see that it was no big deal, even in the moment, but a tsunami of emotions drowned my thinking mind. Instead of trying to fight against the tidal wave, I let it gush out of me. You will cry. Probably a lot. I recommend you don't fight the feelings and simply let them pass through. There will be an end, and you'll be remarkably better for having let it go. (Please know that some people may need extra support if they are experiencing postpartum depression or anxiety. This is not meant to trivialize those experiences. If you are experiencing extended periods of deep sadness or anxiety, do seek that care and help.)

bottom of page