top of page

Day 5: Forgive yourself.

This morning, in a frazzled huff of trying to get my babe to calm down, I shoved her into the Moby wrap. She shrieked, and it took a minute or two to realize that her left leg was bent backwards. She was shrieking in pain. I quickly righted the situation and held her as she sniffled back to a calm place. And then I cried. I cried for hurting her and because I was frustrated with her for her fussiness. I have put her in bath water that is too hot taken off the end of her finger with a nail clipper, and allowed her to be overstimulated by energetic guests. I have already made so many mistakes with her, and will make so many more. And at the end of each day, I forgive myself. Because we have to, and we deserve it, and really, it's okay.

For you: “At the end of the day, tell yourself gently: ‘I love you, you did the best you could today, and even if you didn’t accomplish all you had planned, [even if you made a mistake with caring for your child] I love you anyway.” - Francois

bottom of page