top of page

Day 72: Oxytocin Hit

Awhile back, I learned that oxytocin is colloquially known as the “cuddle hormone.” Every time we embrace someone, for 30 seconds or more, our bodies produce a hit of oxytocin. We also get it while breastfeeding and during sex (Good work, evolution. Keep us putting out) . The sensation is one of warm fuzzies, and leaves us feeling more connected to the person who evoked this hit.

While mindfulness philosophy does not advise us to seek out pleasure-producing practices (as this plays into attachments and wants and needs which ultimately create suffering) to me that level of aestheticism is a bit farther down the path than I.

Snuggying and feeding the baby both produce quite a bit of oxytocin on their own, but I’m a glutton for the stuff. Also, I appreciate the bond it creates between my partner and me. Now that the initial fog of new parentdom has started to lift ever so slightly, and the baby will occasionally tolerate being put down for naps, I have made a point of sneak attacking my husband with long, tight embraces.

In these moments, I bring my full attention to the flood of feelings in my body. I relish the experience of being reciprocally held by another, instead of doing all the holding and caring. I snuggle in and appreciate the warmth of human connection.

So go get your oxytocin hit from another adult in your life. Hold tight and be held, for at least 30 seconds. Let yourself be supported, and enjoy it.


bottom of page